Welcome SoLD Advisory Committee Members

“All of us, for all of them.”

Becky Pringle, President of the National Education Association, made this clarion call to action when she introduced herself as a new member of the Science of Learning and Development Alliance National Advisory Committee (SNAC) at a recent convening. Composed of a diverse community of education and youth-serving leaders from across the country, the SNAC, as it is lovingly referred to by members of the SoLD Alliance, is a force for good that is helping to solve some of our nation’s most pressing challenges. By joining together to elevate the science of learning and development to promote equity and excellence for all young people, the SNAC plays a vital role in helping to create the systems change that can enable every young person to thrive.

The SNAC is growing more than ever before, thanks to the commitment of our newest members who include nationally-recognized experts in school district and network leadership, labor organizing, school health practice and policy, and community schools. Our eleven new SNAC members spotlighted below were identified for their deep expertise, passionate commitment to equity for all young people and the science of learning and development, and their influence among many critical constituencies across the education and youth-serving ecosystem. The SoLD Alliance is proud to call them Allies in our critical work to advance the science of learning and development and whole child equity. We are grateful for their service as well as the service of all.

LaShawn Chatmon

Executive Director, National Equity Project

Rochelle Davis

President & CEO, Healthy Schools Campaign

Dan Domenech

Executive Director, AASA, The Superintendents Association

Andrew Frishman

Co-Executive Director, Big Picture Learning

Eric Gordon

CEO, Cleveland Metropolitan School District

Melissa Kim

Deputy Chancellor, District of Columbia Public Schools

Becky Pringle

President, National Education Association

Kwesi Rollins

Vice President, Institute for Educational Leadership

Rey Saldaña

President and CEO, Communities in Schools

Margaret Beale Spencer

Charles F. Grey Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago

Marla Ucelli-Kashyap

Assistant to the President for Educational Issues, American Federation of Teachers

Ross Weiner

Vice President, Aspen Institute; Executive Director, Education and Society Program

Stay informed and help drive change

Sign Up for our Newsletter